Julia

julia mountains 1

Julia mountains 2

grey scarf

Name: Julia Brewster

Job:  Administration Support Librarian, Calgary Public Library

Twitter: @juliabrewster

What is the most rewarding thing about your hobby?

I have a few hobbies that keep me busy throughout the year: knitting, cooking, hiking and this year growing a vegetable garden!

It depends on the time of year as to what you’ll find me doing. In the winter I spend a lot of time knitting and cooking. In the summer I spend a lot of time hiking in the mountains and just being outside. I am so fortunate to live close to the rocky mountains and it is so easy to head out and be in the middle of nowhere just for the day. The views in the Rockies are like none other! Every time I drive out to the mountains my breath is taken away no matter how many times I’ve seen the same view. It just doesn’t get old!

I love cooking because it is a great way to bring friends together. There is nothing better than preparing an awesome meal and sharing it with friends and loved ones along with some good wine!

What is the most rewarding thing about your job?

Everyday I come to work and I know that the purpose behind what I do and the public library is to contribute to the quality of life of the citizens of Calgary. I truly believe that the public library is essential to the cultural fabric of the city. How awesome is that?

What do librarians/you do all day?

Answer emails. Research. Write. Attend meetings. Brainstorm. Think. Engage with the public. Answer questions.

Does every librarian do the same thing?

Absolutely not. Even librarians within the same organization have vastly different responsibilities. That said, at the end of the day we are all connecting people with the information they are looking for. How we connect people may be different and the focus of our jobs may be different, but fundamentally the purpose behind our jobs are similar, but our day to day tasks are not at all.

How often do you shelve books?

Never.

How often do you do office work?

My current role is dominated by office work.

Do you work at the public desk all day?

No. I used to do so often. But now I never do.

How boring is your job?

Not at all.

Is what you do satisfying?

Yes.

Are you so bored that you have to find a crazy hobby to keep your life interesting?

I am definitely not bored and I don’t think that my hobbies would actually be considered all that crazy. But I believe it’s really important to have a life outside of work, especially a life that allows me to recharge and be a better librarian during the hours I am at work.

Do librarians have secret exciting inner lives to compensate for their regular public lives?

I’m pretty much the same person at work as I am in my regular life.

Are librarians private about everything?

No. The ones I know are not private about most things. The librarians I know have a tendency to be less private than the average person because we all want to share information!

Do you love reading?

Yes, but I don’t read nearly as much as one might expect for a librarian. Reading also has no bearing as to why I became a librarian.

