Leah

Leah

Name: Leah Williams
Contact: @LeahintheLib (twitter) and leahthelibrarian.wordpress.com
Job Title: Technology Consultant
Hobby: Skiing

What is the most rewarding thing about your hobby?
The adrenaline rush I get from skiing really fast. Also, just knowing that I’m really good at something other than being a librarian 🙂

What is the most rewarding thing about your job?
Helping people. I provide the service of knowledge, which is really gratifying because I am helping people learn what they want to learn. Unlike a teacher, I do mostly one-on-one instruction and consultations. People who want to learn are very thankful for the service I provide.

How does your professional life inform your recreational life?
I love representing librarians in public. I feel a responsibility to be cultured, so I make an effort to attend theatre productions and musical performances. I also watch a lot of Jeopardy.

How does your recreational life inform your professional life?
I’m always interested in learning more about my hobbies. If I need to give examples to a patron, I always lean toward my interests. My librarian skills have definitely helped me learn more about my hobbies.

What do librarians/you do all day?
Answer questions. Any and all questions. I also create learning guides and teach workshops.

Does every librarian do the same thing?
No!

How often do you shelve books?
Never!

How often do you do office work?
About 50% of the time.

How boring is your job?
Not nearly as boring as my last job!

Is what you do satisfying?
Absolutely. I love it.

Do librarians have secret exciting inner lives to compensate for their regular public lives?
Probably, but I would recommend that for any profession, not just librarians.

Do you love reading?
Yes! But that’s not why I became a librarian.

