Wendy

What is the most rewarding thing about your hobby?

My hobby is choral singing.  I enjoy the sacred choral music of the Renaissance and Baroque eras.  Singing puts me in a different zone altogether – you can’t sing and concentrate on anything else!

What is the most rewarding thing about your job?

I love the stimulation of working with the next generation of librarians.  I admire their commitment and curiosity.

How your professional life informs your recreational life?

Choral singing is all about collaboration and sublimating your style into the performance of the group.  Librarianship is also highly collaborative.

Are you so bored that you have to find a crazy hobby to keep your life interesting?

I am almost never bored – I don’t have time to be bored.  My hobby is a contrast, but not an escape.

Do librarians have secret exciting inner lives to compensate for their regular public lives?

That old chestnut!  Most librarians I know have exciting inner lives.  They read and travel frequently.  Their profession stimulates and rewards intellectual curiosity.

Are librarians private about everything?

Judging from their Facebook entries, my librarian friends are not very private! They care about others’ privacy, and how to safeguard their own, but they are very open and sociable online.  More than my other friends, they recommend ideas and links.

Why are all librarians women?

They are?  Among my close friends in this profession, I’d say it’s 50/50 male/female, although the profession itself is disproportionately female, for historic reasons.  Medicine and law are catching up to us in attracting female participants.  Like librarianship, these careers are competitors for “smart women”.  Librarianship is focused on enabling the success of others.  In that aspect, I think it is a good ethical and spiritual fit with many females.

